Have a look at our Self Guided Walking Holidays!

There are mountain and forest walks accessed direct from the door of the Pension Hoffelner making it the ideal base for a walking or hiking holiday. Ramsau offers a fantastic range of walks for every ability, from high level mountain walks and hiking on the Glacier or other local peaks- Planai, Hochwurzen, Reiteralm….. to level walks around the plateau (1150m). All routes are well signed and marked and give approximate times between points. There are 80km network of paths and various circular routes on the high plateau.

There are plenty of mountain huts offering character and refreshment at a reasonable price. You can stay in the higher level huts overnight to break longer walks and add to the adventure.

We can recommend lots of walks and also offer two or three accompanied hikes a week (depending on numbers and ability). The Hoffelner offer Walking Breaks throughout the summer which include Bed & Breakfast accommodation in en-suite room with tv/dvd and balcony with beautiful views


Ramsau high plateau at 1,100 - 1,400 m - gentle hikes and walks
Unforgettable moments in the heart of nature. With its 80 km network of paths, Ramsau is an eldorado for walkers and hikers. Three long circular walks cover the high plateau. The attractive footpaths lead through stunning, sunny terrain to the alpine pasture region at 1,700 m.

The 5 hut path offers the most beautiful introduction to the Ramsau mountain pastures.

The classical of all Ramsau footpaths, which was already in use in Ramsau's pioneering days. The traditional mountain huts and the lovely mountain pastures with the high walls of the Dachstein south wall towering above are the prominent features of the walk.

The network of footpaths in the mountain pasture area is suitable for both walkers and hikers and prepared accordingly. 

Dachstein Glacier region

1,000 m above the mountain pastures at an altitude of 2,700 m above sea level lies Austria's most eastern glacier. Easily accessible with the Dachstein cable car (from Türlwand - at the end of the Dachstein road).
The mountain station Hunerkogel boasts a  fantastic 360° panorama!

Ramsau's Tourist Centre service for walkers :

  • Welcome meeting every Monday in the Events Centre
  • Mountain climbers' info: 
    Mountain Guides' Office in Ramsau centre, Tel. +43-3687-81424 and
    Alpinschule Dachstein, Tel. +43-3687-81223
  • Walking maps: on sale in Tourist Office, Ramsau
  • Ramsau am Dachstein walking guide, walking maps 1:22.500, walking plans,
  • Walking CD rom, walking brochures, timetables 
  • Children's walking folder on the trails of "KALI - the Ramsaurier"
  • Current weekly programme with events, guided walks, mountaineering programme, slide shows etc. is available in all accommodation properties and from the Tourist Office
  • Starting point for walks:
    the central starting point in Ramsau resort is the VAZ (Events Centre next to the swimming pool) with car park.
  • Other starting points for walks are in the areas of Rittisberg, Kulm, Auwirt, Edelbrunn, Türlwand, Rössing.

Wanderwege durch Wald und Berg liegen direkt vor der Tür der Pension Hoffelner. Daher ist sie ein idealer Standort für einen Wanderurlaub. Die Ramsau bietet Wanderwege aller Schwierigkeitsgrade, von exponierten Bergpfaden und Gletscherquerungen bis zu ebenen Spazierwegen auf dem Ramsau Plateau (1150m). Alle Wege sind gut markiert und mit Zeitangaben versehen. Das Wegenetz auf dem Plateau ist 80 km lang und besitzt eine Reihe von Rundwegen.

Zahlreiche gemütliche Berghütten bieten Erfrischungen zu angemessenen Preisen.  Übernachtungsmöglichkeiten auf den höher gelegenen Hütten laden zu Mehrtageswanderungen ein und vertiefen das Bergerlebnis.
Wir können viele Wanderungen empfehlen und bieten selber zwei- bis dreimal pro Woche geführte Wanderungen (je nach Nachfrage und Können). Die Pension Hoffelner bietet während des Sommers Wanderpauschalen für Doppelzimmer mit Bad/Dusche und WC, TV/DVD, Balkon mit Panoramablick und Frühstück.

Ramsauer Hochplateau von 1100 - 1400 m – Gemütliche Wanderungen und Spaziergänge
Wonnige Augenblicke inmitten der Natur. Mit einem Wegenetz von 80 km ist die Ramsau ein Eldorado für Spazier- und Wanderfreunde. Drei große Rundwanderwege erschließen das Hochplateau. Die attraktiven Wanderwege führen durch kupiertes und sonniges Gelände bis zur Almregion auf 1.700 Meter Seehöhe.  

Den schönsten Zugang zu den Ramsauer Almen bietet der 5-Hütten Weg

Der Klassiker unter den Ramsauer Wegen, der schon in den Pioniertagen der Dachstein Erschließung benützt wurde. Die traditionsreichen Hütten und die schöne Almlandschaft mit den hoch aufragenden Südwänden sind die herausragenden Merkmale dieser Wanderung.
Das Wegenetz in den Almen ist sowohl für Spaziergänger als auch Wanderer geeignet und entsprechend aufbereitet!
 

Dachstein-Gletscherregion

1.000 m über den Almen liegt in 2.700 m Seehöhe der östlichste Gletscher Österreichs. Leicht erreichbar mit der Dachstein Gletscherbahn (ab Türlwand - Endpunkt der Dachsteinstraße).
Die Bergstation Hunerkogel bietet ein tolles 360° Panorama!

Touristeninfo – Angebote für Wanderer:

•    Empfang für neue Gäste jeden Montag im Veranstaltungszentrum
•    Informationen für Bergsteiger: Bergführerbüro im Ortszentrum, Tel. +43-3687-81424 und Alpinschule Dachstein, Tel. +43-3687-81223
•    Wanderkartenverkauf im Touristenbüro in Ramsau
•    Wanderführer und Karten 1:22500
•    Wanderer-CD und Faltblätter, Zeittafeln
•    Kinderwandermappe auf den Spuren von „KALI, dem Ramsaurier“
•    Wöchentliches Programm mit Veranstaltungen, geführten Wanderungen, Bergsteigerprogramm, Diavorträgen usw. wird in allen Unterkünften und von der Touristeninformation angeboten.
•    Zentraler Ausgangspunkt für Wanderungen in und um Ramsau ist das Veranstaltungszentrum (VAZ) neben dem Hallenbad, mit Parkplatz.
•    Weitere Wanderungen beginnen am Rittisberg, in Kulm, beim Auwirt, in Edelbrunn, an der Türlwand und in Rössing.